Hunt for the Jews

Through detailed reconstruction of events, this close-up account of the fates of individual Jews casts a bright light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust in Poland.

Hunt for the Jews

Judenjagd, hunt for the Jews, was the German term for the organized searches for Jews who, having survived ghetto liquidations and deportations to death camps in Poland in 1942, attempted to hide "on the Aryan side." Jan Grabowski's penetrating microhistory tells the story of the Judenjagd in Dabrowa Tarnowska, a rural county in southeastern Poland, where the majority of the Jews in hiding perished as a consequence of betrayal by their Polish neighbors. Drawing on materials from Polish, Jewish, and German sources created during and after the war, Grabowski documents the involvement of the local Polish population in the process of detecting and killing the Jews who sought their aid. Through detailed reconstruction of events, this close-up account of the fates of individual Jews casts a bright light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust in Poland.

More Books:

Hunt for the Jews
Language: en
Pages: 303
Authors: Jan Grabowski
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013 - Publisher:

Judenjagd, hunt for the Jews, was the German term for the organized searches for Jews who, having survived ghetto liquidations and deportations to death camps in Poland in 1942, attempted to hide "on the Aryan side." Jan Grabowski's penetrating microhistory tells the story of the Judenjagd in Dabrowa Tarnowska, a
Hunt for the Jews
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Jan Grabowski
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-09 - Publisher: Indiana University Press

A revealing account of Polish cooperation with Nazis in WWII—a “grim, compelling [and] significant scholarly study” (Kirkus Reviews). Between 1942 and 1943, thousands of Jews escaped the fate of German death camps in Poland. As they sought refuge in the Polish countryside, the Nazi death machine organized what they called
Hanns and Rudolf
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Thomas Harding
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-08-18 - Publisher: Random House

_____________________________________ THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE JQ WINGATE PRIZE 2015 SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD 'A gripping thriller, an unspeakable crime, an essential history.' JOHN LE CARRÉ _____________________________________ Hanns Alexander was the son of a prosperous German family who fled Berlin for London in the 1930s, becoming
Like Salt for Bread. The Jews of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Language: en
Pages: 968
Authors: Francine Friedman
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-22 - Publisher: BRILL

A numerically small Jewish community helped their ethnically embattled neighbors in a neutral, humanitarian way to survive the longest modern siege, Sarajevo, in the early 1990s.
Hunting Down the Jews
Language: en
Pages: 340
Authors: Isaac Levendel, Bernard Weisz
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-11-15 - Publisher: Enigma Books

The Holocaust in Vichy France in 1944 is the culmination of this study. For readers of World War II.