Serving Athena

This repeated theme made Athena's festival into a unified occasion and related its different parts together. Identifying the earth-born Erichthonios as the original founder of the celebration put an emphasis both on his relationship to ...

Serving Athena

Examines how the Panathenaia ('all Athenian'), the most important festival in ancient Athens, created identities for participants.

More Books:

Serving Athena
Language: en
Pages: 500
Authors: Julia L. Shear
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-11 - Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Examines how the Panathenaia ('all Athenian'), the most important festival in ancient Athens, created identities for participants.
Athena's Champion
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: David Hair, Cath Mayo
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-11-08 - Publisher: Canelo

A prophecy condemns him, a goddess binds him, but what will set Odysseus free? A thrilling tale of a legendary Greek adventure, perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and David Gemmell. Young Prince Odysseus is about to have his world torn apart. He has travelled to the oracle at Pytho
Athena Itonia: Geography and Meaning of an Ancient Greek War Goddess
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Gerald Lalonde
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-21 - Publisher: BRILL

In Athena Itonia Gerald V. Lalonde offers a comparative study of the social, political and military aspects of the cult of Athena Itonia and its propagation among the four regions of ancient Greece where major evidence has come to light.
Herald
Language: en
Pages: 363
Authors: N.F. Houck
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-04-21 - Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

Herald is the story of Hermes, divine messenger of classical mythology and son of mighty Zeus, ruler of the Olympian gods. Born secretly in an ancient mountain cave, and possessing abilities that make the young god a friend to both the living and the dead, Hermes becomes a valuable aid
Serving Athena
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Julia L. Shear
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02-28 - Publisher: Cambridge University Press

In ancient Athens, the Panathenaia was the most important festival and was celebrated in honour of Athena from the middle of the sixth century BC until the end of the fourth century AD. This in-depth study examines how this all-Athenian celebration was an occasion for constructing identities and how it