The Women of the Castle

. . Deeply moving and compelling, The Women of the Castle is a heart-wrenching and hopeful novel of secrets and survival, a reckoning, and the astonishing power of forgiveness.

The Women of the Castle

In war they made impossible choices. Now can they live with them? 'Moving . . . surprises and devastates' New York Times 'Masterful' People 'Mesmerising . . . reveals new truths about one of history's most tragic eras' USA Today The Third Reich has crumbled. The Russians are coming. Marianne von Lingenfels - widow of a resister murdered by the Nazi regime - finds refuge in the crumbling Bavarian castle where she once played host to German high society. There she fulfils her promise to find and protect the wives and children of her husband's brave conspirators, rescuing her dearest friend's widow, Benita, from sexual slavery to the Russian army, and Ania from a work camp for political prisoners. As Marianne assembles this makeshift family she is certain their shared pain will bind them together. But as Benita begins a clandestine relationship and Ania struggles to conceal her role in the Nazi regime, Marianne learns that her clear-cut, highly principled world view has no place in these new, frightening and emotionally-charged days. All three women must grapple with the realities they now face, and the consequences of decisions each made in the darkest of times . . . Deeply moving and compelling, The Women of the Castle is a heart-wrenching and hopeful novel of secrets and survival, a reckoning, and the astonishing power of forgiveness. Perfect for fans of All the Light You Cannot See, The Reader and The Light Between Oceans.

More Books:

The Women in the Castle
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Jessica Shattuck
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-04-04 - Publisher: William Morrow

Three women, haunted by the past and the secrets they hold Set at the end of World War II, in a crumbling Bavarian castle that once played host to all of German high society, a powerful and propulsive story of three widows whose lives and fates become intertwined—an affecting, shocking,
The Female Voice in The Assembly of Ladies
Language: en
Pages: 215
Authors: Simone Celine Marshall
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-05-27 - Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing

The Assembly of Ladies is a fifteenth-century secular love poem in Middle English that adheres closely to conventional poetic structures, but throws these conventions into relief as it presents the narrative from a woman’s point of view, a rare occurrence for poetry of this period. Who wrote it, for whom
A History of Women in Ireland, 1500-1800
Language: en
Pages: 344
Authors: Mary O'Dowd
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-17 - Publisher: Routledge

The first general survey of the history of women in early modern Ireland. Based on an impressive range of source material, it presents the results of original research into women’s lives and experiences in Ireland from 1500 to 1800. This was a time of considerable change in Ireland as English
Danger in the Land of Grandeur
Language: en
Pages: 262
Authors: Arlene Cotterell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-29 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

WWIII broke out in February of 2025 between North Korea and the US. The only survivors were in Las Vegas Nevada approximately 100 were living in safe houses and were called healthy humans, approximately 200 were left out in the elements and were called damaged humans. There was one damaged
Originality and Tradition in the Middle Dutch Roman Van Walewein
Language: en
Pages: 207
Authors: Bart Besamusca, Keith Busby, Erik Kooper
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999 - Publisher: DS Brewer

New editor, new directions: the series broadens its scope to encompass European literatures other than French and English; still, however, an indispensable component of any historical or Arthurian library. NOTES AND QUERIES