The Writing on the Wall and Other Stories

They walked right up to the wall and touched it with the hand that was free. Helen walked towards another photo. It was of two soldiers. ... 11 Peter thought about what the electrician had said the 65 the writing on the wall.

The Writing on the Wall and Other Stories

Peter Bayer was seventy-three. He’d taught at the school just up the road for most of his life and, when the wall came down, saw no reason to move. Nobody could say life had been easy, and when it was built, he’d lost contact with many friends, but he’d learnt to enjoy life as best he could and had had the good fortune of a happy marriage to Elsa. It’s 2006. Peter Bayer and his wife, Elsa, live on the East side of Berlin, as they’ve always done, even when that wasn’t an attractive proposition. What limits Peter’s freedom nowadays isn’t a concrete wall but often feels like one. Elsa has dementia and barely recognises him, so his life is not only hard work, but it’s lonely. What makes it lonelier is that his wife’s illness has given her a distorted view of the past and one that would horrify the woman he married. When Helen, a recently widowed English woman, rents the flat Peter owns nearby, he experiences the kinds of conversations that used to be normal for him, which makes his current reality all the more painful. Helen’s come to Berlin to find out more about her husband’s past in the city and learns things from their German friends that she was unaware of when he was alive. During her struggle to come to terms with her present life, Helen sees that the terrible demands on Peter’s life are almost impossible to endure. Other stories in the book show the toll of war, as fear is passed from one generation to another and we see how the power of secrecy never disappears. They also reveal how gratitude can take various forms and how intergenerational friendships really are all they’re cracked up to be. The Writing on the Wall and Other Stories is a collection of tales, spanning the 1980s to the present day, that will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler, Alan Bennett and Alice Munro, whom Penny Edwards takes inspiration from.

More Books:

The Writing on the Wall and Other Stories
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Penny Edwards
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-12 - Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

Peter Bayer was seventy-three. He’d taught at the school just up the road for most of his life and, when the wall came down, saw no reason to move. Nobody could say life had been easy, and when it was built, he’d lost contact with many friends, but he’d learnt
Ladies, the Writing Is on the Wall
Language: en
Pages: 120
Authors: Adrian Weber
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-01 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

This is a no nonsense straight to the point type of book. While thought provoking, this book will enhance a woman's relationship while prompting her to reevaluate past and current relationships. This book will be a tool of reference for women to resort to when deciding whether or not she
Exploring the Book of Daniel
Language: en
Pages: 287
Authors: John Phillips
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher: Kregel Academic

"John Phillips writes with enthusiasm and clarity, . . . cutting through the confusion and heretical dangers associated with Bible interpretation." --Moody Magazine
Clues: A Journal of Detection, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Spring 2020)
Language: en
Pages: 120
Authors: Janice M. Allan
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-08 - Publisher: McFarland

For over two decades, Clues has included the best scholarship on mystery and detective fiction. With a combination of academic essays and nonfiction book reviews, it covers all aspects of mystery and detective fiction material in print, television and movies. As the only American scholarly journal on mystery fiction, Clues
Jack the Ripper
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: John J. Eddleston
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001-01-01 - Publisher: ABC-CLIO

A detailed and meticulously researched encyclopedia on all aspects of Jack the Ripper, one of the world's most famous, and mysterious, serial killers. * 450+ entries arranged around themes such as suspects, victims, police, myths, and errors * Verbatim accounts of eight important letters written at the times of the